Art of The Day #4

26 01 2010

On this rainy Monday I feel like I need to just sit and relax. But it is school time so I can’t. Today I want to go back, way back. All the way back to 1665/66, with the work of Vermeer. I adore old paintings like this one. It like a time machine back to that time. I also love paintings of people painting or drawing. It adds more realism for me. People did not get all dressed up and pretty to get painted. This painting displays what people wore back then. I like how Vermeer used drapery to frame the picture on the left side. The folds in the fabric and the position of the painter direct your eye towards the woman. Actually looking at it a little closer, the tiles on the floor are also pointing at her. There a good use of perspective with the chair in the foreground the painters seat in the mid ground and the table in the far ground. I like this one a lot. It is very warm and inviting.

I wonder if I could rock those socks?
Bobby,

Actions

Information

2 responses

26 01 2010
boblie

only if you wear the tights too.

27 01 2010
boblie

Tights – Check

Leave a Reply

